Sept 21st- Easy Does It

Easy changes make this a cute outfit!

Yes, I am standing weird- just wanted to give the full effect of how shapeless this was!

I’d been eyeing this striped dress from J Crew for a while now- (see picture at bottom
of page!) but it was too expensive for my budget (yes, I’m cheap!). I finally found a similar one on clearance at Sears (Lands End again!) and at first glance I passed it over. Here’s why: this is what it looked like when I tried it on (picture on the right!)

But, after careful thought- and a little trial and error- I decided to see if I could do some easy changes to make this more my style.

First off, I  added a cute brown leather braided belt. This cinches the dress- making the fit more flattering. Next I rolled the sleeves to the elbow- the original length was awkward. I also threw on my favorite orange scarf. I LOVE orange and blue together- they are such a great combo. Finally, I traded out my Birks for some cute wedge heels. My friend, Livi, said she hates wearing dresses because she never knows what shoes to wear. A cute wedge heel in a neutral color is almost always a good choice.

Since I’m participating in Work it Wednesday, (where we show 1 item 3 different ways- although in this case, example #1 is a definite Don’t!)) I’ll show another option!

If it’s too warm for a scarf- a cute necklace also works:

Even with just the necklace, it's still cute!

Have you noticed how much I love stripes!

Dress: Sears, Belt: American Eagle, Necklace: Kohls, Scarf: Thrifted, Shoes: Ann Taylor Loft

Dress below: J Crew

Maritime dress

5 thoughts on “Sept 21st- Easy Does It

Leave a Reply

