Sept 26th, Falling In Love

When you think about dressing in 3's you'll never look boring!

This just seems a little boring!

I love fall- and it seems like most people do. What is it? The cooler weather? Back to school? College football? For me, it’s the clothes! Today is a typical fall day in the Pacific Northwest- it’s grey, rainy and mild temperature.

Once again, I am showing how to build an outfit. I started with my skinny jeans and a purple shirt. Just these 2 items alone are boring! So, I’m taking advice from Jessica Quirk- of What I Wore. She advises you always dress in 3’s. I knew this to be true when decorating (group collections of things in three’s), but it’s also true for building an outfit.

Following this advice I added a grey grandpa style cardigan. I’ll admit- when the salesgirl at J Crew suggested I buy this, I hesitated. I thought there was no way I would wear that. Luckily, she convinced me and I’m so glad. I’ve had this sweater for almost 2 years now and I wear it all the time. The grey is a great neutral color and I can throw this sweater on over any skinny pants and add style and hide my butt at the same time. Genius!

Building on the purple top and the grey sweater, this new scarf from Target is the perfect final touch. I love the colors- and it seems to tie the whole look together. To complete the look, I have on black ballet flats (to match the black in the scarf) and a very small arm party 0f silver bracelets (to match the grey sweater). That’s it… now I’m off to work! Have a great Monday!

In this picture I left the scarf untied. Not sure which is better? What do you think?

I’m participating in Momtrends Monday Mingle today, so to see some other great looks from other bloggers, click here!

Jeans: Anthropologie, Top: Nordstrom, Cardigan: J Crew, Scarf: Target, Shoes: Nordstrom (Tory Burch)

17 thoughts on “Sept 26th, Falling In Love

  1. I need skinny jeans but don’t know where to start – what brand are yours? I like the scarf tied better. I would love a scarf tying lesson! Very cute outfit : )

    • My jeans are J Brand from Anthropologie, but I would suggest you go to Nordstrom and ask a salesperson to help you. We are all shaped so differently, what works for me- won’t necessarily work for you. My shape is big butt, curvy hips and small waist- so I have a hard time finding ones that will fit over my butt and not gape in the waistband.

      I suggest looking for a dark wash with lots of stretch. Be willing to spend a bit ( probably over $100). Wear ballet flats and a plain white t shirt and go try on a bunch of pairs and see what works best for your figure. If you are open minded and willing to try on 15 pairs- I bet you’ll fall in love too! Good luck and send me a picture if you find some.

      I think I’ll do a post on scarf tying, I’ve had a few other people ask the same question. By the way, I like it tied better too!

  2. LOVE this!! Building an outfit is so important. Thrilled the J Crew gal suggested you buy this cardy (and that’s not just because I may or may not have a major cardy obsession!).

  3. I just came across your website and LOVE it! I’ve been taking tips from you (adding a cardigan, belting a top, etc) and I also love how often you post. Keep up the good work!

  4. Bought a pair of J Brand jeans today from Anthropology. They cost more than my first car, but hey – I figure I will wear them more than anything else in my closet so they’re worth it . . . right?? I have a pair of really dark Cookie Johnson skin tight jeans that I have to use a hydraulic lift to get in and out of, but I would never wear them with anything that doesn’t come down to my knees. My new J Brand ones I think I could wear with a little cardy and not feel like I”m going to end up on the “People of Walmart” website.

    Keep up the great posts!

    • So glad you found some you love! Please send a picture!!! As for the cost, think of it as a great investment! You’ll have them for years- and if you consider price per wear (another tip from my idol Jessica Quirk), they really aren’t that expensive. Let’s say they were $250, if you have them 2 years and wear them 2x a week- they come out at $1.20 per wear. * disclaimer, you might need to check my math!

Leave a Reply

