Oct 5th, Work It Wednesday

Simple and easy everyday mom style.

Perfect for work.

Hello! Today I am participating in Work it Wednesday, where I show 1 item 3 ways. I’ve selected what I consider to be a wardrobe staple- a black turtleneck. I like mine tight fitting- so I can easily layer it under a jacket.

My first look (left) is truly what I would wear everyday. It’s comfy, cute and stylish. I’ve simply thrown on a pair of boyfriend jeans, the turtleneck and this amazing scarf my hubby bought me for Christmas. It’s enormous, which is why it looks so voluminous. Since this is something I’d wear running errands, or volunteering at school- I’m wearing my comfy ballet flats.

My next look (right)  is what I call “sexy librarian’, this is something I would wear to work. It’s such a basic look- pencil skirt with turtleneck, but paired with this cool necklace from Kohl’s, it actually looks like I put some effort into my look. To keep it polished and professional, I have on my classic pointy heels.
The last look is one that might be a bit risky. You’ll either love it or hate it (my family hated it). I’m going with all black from head to toe- and then added a splash of red to make it interesting. I got the idea for this outfit from the movie Four Christmases, don’t know if you’ll remember, but Resse Witherspoon had on a black skirt and black top and black belt- and looked so cool! I felt like I needed a bit of color, to keep from looking like a sprocket- hence the red. What do you think? Yes? No? Stick to my day job?

All one color can be very slimming.

Turtleneck: White House, Black Market, Scarf: Lucky, Jeans: Gap, Skirt: Target, Pants: Express, Necklace (red): Cookie Lee, Necklace: Kohl’s, Red Flats: Target, Heels: Nordstrom, Black Flats: Nordstrom

I’ve also linked up to Real Momma Style and The Pleated Poppy– check them out for some great looks!

10 thoughts on “Oct 5th, Work It Wednesday

  1. Love the all black with splash of red – very retro chic! I can never bring myself to wear a big scarf bunched up around my neck. I feel like I would be fussing with it all day.

  2. ooh, I love the last look — I actually wear all-black with splashes of color all the time; it’s so chic! The first look is something I wear all the time, as well!

    • Thanks for stopping by and making a comment!
      Why I listened to the fashion advice of a 10 year old is beyond me (that’s who hated the all black look!). Glad you liked it!

  3. I love all three looks…they all look like something that I would wear. Personally, I like the all black with splashes or red. Very Audrey Hepburn…classic! I think I may have to copy that look. ;o)

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! I am a HUGE fan of yours- I love all your looks on polyvore- you have such cute style!
      I sort of thought the all black was a little ‘Audrey Hepburn’ too! So glad you liked it!

  4. Pingback: Oct 12th, Work it Wednesday « Everyday Mom Style

Leave a Reply

