Oct. 11th, Bootie Call

One way to look skinnier is to dress from head to toe in one color, then add a jacket.

Zipped up seems so stuffy!

Now that I’m doing this style experiment, I’m noticing that for fall/winter my shoes options are pathetic. Basically, I own black and brown boots- BORING! In order to expand my options, I made a little emergency trip to Marshalls last Friday and picked up a few new pairs. I wore one on Sat (the fur lined hiker boot seen here) and today I’m sporting another- introducing my new black booties!

I’ve paired them with skinny black pants (wardrobe staple), a black tank and a Chanel inspired jacket. I’ve accessorized with this cool necklace that I got at Forever 21. I like the way the beads play off the colors in the jacket.

On the right is my ‘before’ look. With the jacket zipped and the traditional trousers, I think I look a little dated. On my feet I have my trusty old boots- and to be honest, if I had to do a ton of walking, I’d probably say ‘screw fashion’ and wear these boots. They are really so much more comfortable.

But, in the name of style, I will thrust my feet into these silly booties and hope I don’t have to walk far!

Thanks for all the comments- please keep them coming!  I rely on advice and tips from you more fashionable people!

While I love these trousers, they aren't doing much to make this outfit look young and fresh.

The skinny pant makes this look more modern.

These were $30 at Marshalls. Love them or hate them?

Pants: Express, Tank: Gap, Jacket: Nordstrom, Bootie: Marshalls, Necklace: Forever 21, Trouser: Nordstrom, Black Boots: Aerosole

9 thoughts on “Oct. 11th, Bootie Call

  1. Wow – this outfit is a complete departure from all the other looks you have shared. I have to agree with you that it is kind of dated! The new boots look good but comfort trumps style for me everyday!

  2. Megan, I am inspired by your blog every day. I can’t believe how many cute outfits you have and how great you look in them! You have encouraged me to get out of my morning walk-the-dog-clothes and put on something cute after my workouts. But, more than anything, I am inspired by what you do for our school and community, as well as how you help senior citizens in your business. You rock!

  3. I think these booties are great and could look good with your flannel and black dress outfit that you posted a couple of days ago (the one you said that you wouldn’t wear again!). I appreciate the daily posts and enjoy your blog.

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I know, this jacket is a weird one. It’s actually Free People, which to me makes it hip and young, yet the style is so boxy and dated. I can’t decide how I feel about it.

  4. I think the jacket is great – it looks a lot like Tory Burch’s new line of tweedy-style/chanel inspired jackets. I love the boots, too, but i am trying to decide about socks/pants and how to make that work perfectly. They would be really cute with tights and a skirt, too. I want them! Your page has TOTALLY inspired me to dress more stylish, and I mimic your outfits all of the time! (-:

  5. I love the concept here, I would add a bright scarf to the look, maybe in red. Consider some shiny gold toned bangles or a watch too, they’re like a bright and will take the whole thing from looking too dark. I hope you threw on some bright lipstick too! I’m loving adding a pop of color via my lips. I’m planning on doing some posts about super bright lipsticks and the different mediums you can wear them in (stain, gloss, matte and creme)

Leave a Reply

