Oct 12th, Work it Wednesday

This blue and white striped shirt is such an easy piece to throw on with anything!

This is almost the opposite of the outfit on the left.

Can’t believe it’s already Wednesday! Once again, I’m participating in Work it Wednesday, where I show 1 article of clothing worn 3 ways. Today I’ve selected one of my favorite tops- my striped shirt from J Crew. Which I wore here.

In the picture on the left I’m wearing it with my boyfriend jeans, my new fur booties and my utility vest from Old Navy. A very casual and easy outfit. I’ve heard you are never supposed to wear horizontal stripes- because it makes you look wide- but paired with the vest, there is now a vertical line to break up the look.

On the right, I’ve taken the same concept and flipped it- putting the utility on bottom (cargo pants, rolled up to add style) and adding a denim jacket (sleeves rolled up to add personality). Again, the jacket acts as a vertical line to break up the stripes. I still have on booties, but a different pair that look a little better with these  pants.  Otherwise it is basically the same outfit in reverse.

Below I’m showing a 3rd look- Here I’ve paired the striped top with my dark skinny jeans, ballet flats and a grey cable knit oversize sweater. This is a little dressier look (the dark denim, flats and pearls), but the oversize sweater adds a casual element to it. Perfect for running around town in!

A huge rain storm blew in while we were taking these pictures, so it’s very dark and hard to see. I apologize!

Pardon the umbrella- it started pouring during my photos!

To be honest, I’m not sure which look I like the best- probably the one with the jeans- which is what I actually wore! Which one is your favorite? Please comment and let me know! I love hearing from my readers, it truly makes my day!!

I really love the easy casual look of this outfit. So me!

Other Work it Wednesday posts can be found here and here !

Jeans: Gap, Shirt: J Crew, Vest: Old Navy, Cargo Pants: Louis Permilia, Denim Jacket: Old Navy, Skinny jeans: Anthropologie, Cable sweater: White house, Black Market, Shoes- Fur booties: Marshalls, Booties: Kohl’s, Flats: Nordstroms

8 thoughts on “Oct 12th, Work it Wednesday

  1. Yep, that’s the great thing about a striped top. It acts like a neutral, but adds more punch to the outfit than a neutral could. This is why I find myself fighting my instinct to wear my own striped top WAY TOO OFTEN!! 🙂

  2. Love your blog! I have mined so many great ideas and inspirations from it – for work and weekend/fun! Thank you so much for sharing. I also love that you show the before/after pix and Work It Wed. is the best.

    Today I would say I like the jeans outfit and the sweater outfit. I think I want a utility vest now!

    And I do check in with you everyday… : )

  3. I think I need (ok, want) a pair of booties like yours! Maybe hubbie could spoil me tomorrow at the mall… I´ll send a mail with the link of this page… Thanks for the ideas, so great! Could I pin it on my Pinterest account? xoxo

Leave a Reply

