Oct. 13th, Tying too Hard?

The scarf tied as a belt emphasizes my waist and brings definition to this oversize sweater.

Without the belt/ scarf and with black tights. Is this too safe? Too boring?

I’m come to a place where I am so inspired by all the amazing fashion/ style blogs that I view daily, that I feel the need to push the envelope a bit with my styling choices. But on the other hand  when one of my favorite readers (that’s you Jenny M) wrote on Monday how my outfit looked so entirely different than anything I normally wear- I realized she was right!

So my question is, what’s the difference between being fashionable and trying too hard? My goal is to be stylish, but I also don’t want to lose my identity (or look ridiculous).

Today’s outfit is another example of that. On the right is how I have worn this in the past. A pretty purple sweater, a black pencil skirt, some black tights, black heels and a necklace. Nothing too exciting, definitely nothing to risky- just plain and simple- and definitely ME!

On the left is my attempt to re-style this look. I have tied a scarf around my waist (now the ‘tying’ in the title makes sense, right?), and added colored tights (all the rage) and my new black booties. I honestly think this looks pretty great, but is it me? Am I comfortable wearing this? NO!

Let’s face it, I’m 40 years old and these damn booties just aren’t working out for me. As much as I’d love them to- honestly, they aren’t comfortable, and I want this blog/ experiment to be real. Am I REALLY going to wear those booties all day? No, I’m going to wear comfortable flats- because that’s WHO I AM!

Here is my advice to myself:  If I’m not entirely comfortable with what I’m wearing don’t even try to fake it. Yes, in order to be stylish, take some small risks and find what works for me (not for a 25 year old).

Instead of the outfit above,  I’ll wear the scarf – but around my neck, I’ll wear a real belt, I’ll keep the colored tights (but only with tall boots so you can’t really see them) and ditch the booties!

A good compromise for my look today! This reflects ME! (sorry this is blurry, not sure what happened?)

Note to self- go buy a new bra! This is pathetic!

Skirt: Gap, Sweater: Nordtroms,Tights: Marshalls, Booties: Marshalls, Heels: Nordstroms, Necklace: H&M

8 thoughts on “Oct. 13th, Tying too Hard?

    • You nailed it! I couldn’t put my finger on why it wasn’t working, but you are exactly right! Hooves is definitely NOT the look I’m going for!
      Thank you!!

  1. I like look #3 the best by far. Very fashionable yet age appropriate. One suggestion – if you want to wear the necklace, but still have the fun pop of color the scarf brings, try tying the scarf around the handles of your black purse. You get the splash of color without over accessorizing.

    I’m not a fan of the booties – they look very trendy and just plain silly to me. I don’t even like them on Jennifer Aniston, and I normally love the way she looks.

    As for finding your style, I have a good friend who once told me “it took me 40 years to figure out what works best for me fashion wise.” Once she figured out that just because something is “in style” doesn’t mean she could/should wear it, she quit trying to follow the trends and instead wears what really looks good on her. She always looks like a million bucks and is very fashionable even though she’s not wearing things like bootie hooves : )

    • Amen!! I couldn’t have said it better myself! Thank you! You are so right, following trends doesn’t make you fashionable, knowing your own personal style does!
      I love the suggestion if the scarf tied to my purse straps, thanks! I’ll try that soon!
      Thanks so much for taking the time to write, I truly appreciate it!

  2. Great post! I totally feel you on the follow trends vs. be yourself dilemma – that’s why I love your blog! Cute looks, on trend, but not too crazy or too young (love the blogs written by the 20-somethings, too, but there’s no chance that I’m putting on a pair of stilettos to chase after my 2 kids!) Thanks for the fashion inspiration!

    • Thank you so much! I am so happy you found me- and that you like me- and that you commented! Thanks!
      I have to agree, when I see 20 somethings writing about wearing $500 stilettos to run around town in, I have to laugh! My goal is to show what moms REALLY wear!

  3. I love how you have the scarf tied around your neck. It’s so chunky and really adds dimension to your outfit. I think trying too hard comes in when you don’t feel natural anymore. What does it feel natural for you to wear? What do you feel good in? If you feel good in it, you’re not trying too hard!
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com

  4. I actually like your outfit with the booties alot and don’t think you have “hooves”, but the last outfit does look more comfortable and “real”. ^_^ Popped over from EBEW.

Leave a Reply

