Oct. 14th, Blue Jean Lady

The flats and the skinny jeans make this outfit a little more stylish.

Surely this doesn't even require a comment. It should be very obvious why this doesn't work!

Two words: Oh dear! I imagine the picture on the right doesn’t really need much more explanation than that, but just in case- let me start by saying I have actually seen women wearing this (including the tennis shoes).

While yesterday’s post was on not being too trendy and trying too hard- today’s post is about at least making a little effort. The clothes we wear are often the first impression people have of us, and sadly the outfit on the right leaves the impression that you are out of date. Luckily, all it takes is a few small changes to make this outfit look a bit better.

Let’s start with the jeans. I know you all are pretty sick of seeing me in my skinny jeans. But honestly, they work so well with most of my tops- and the dark color is a more current look. The length is perfect for ballet flats, which is the perfect shoe for us busy moms. And, the best part is that they are very comfy! Be sure to buy jeans with stretch (spandex) in them.

Now for the shoes- seriously, unless you are running a marathon, please DO NOT wear your tennis shoes out of the house. I understand the whole ‘my feet hurt’ thing, I get it- my feet hurt too! But, if you invest in some great flats (Cole Haan’s are my favorite) they will actually be extremely comfortable and WAY more stylish than tennis shoes.

Lastly, let’s talk about the cardigan. I know, on Monday I shunned the basic boring cardy- and then here I am today wearing one. The reason this works is because: 1) I unbuttoned it, 2) it’s layered over a button down plaid shirt (which is over a tank top- and unbuttoned a bit- so it looks fresh and modern). 3) Because my plaid shirt is the focus of the outfit, the cardigan simply acts as a supporting piece. It ties in the color from my bottom half- having 1 uniform color from head to toe is a great way to appear slimmer.

Ok that’s it- I’m off to wake the kids up for school. Wish me luck!

See you tomorrow! Shirt: Target, Sweater: H&M, Jeans: Anthrolopologie, Ballet Flats: Target


This would even work without the cardigan, expect I'm always cold!

2 thoughts on “Oct. 14th, Blue Jean Lady

Leave a Reply

