Oct. 17th, Transition into Fall

Love this cozy fall sweater paired with a skirt and booties!

Yes, you've seen this picture before. Here was my example of how NOT to wear it!

I really love this skirt- I bought it last year and I’m finding it’s a versatile piece that can be worn in the summer- as seen here– and here– and then it also transitions into a great piece for fall.  On the right I am showing the same picture I used last time as an example of what not to do.

On the left I am showing what I think is a cute look- and I’m bummed because I don’t think it looks as good in the photo as in real life. Oh well, take my word for it (or not!).

I’ve had this fabulous sweater for years- and I never knew what to wear underneath- so it sat in the back of my closet. Today I decided to try it with this cute light blue button down- and I love it! I have the shirt layered over a tank (although that’s hard to see- I definitely need to unbutton one more button) and I’ve added a cute long necklace. To keep my legs warm, I’m embracing the colored tights look with these wonderful (and super warm) cream colored tights. Lastly, I’m wearing my favorite fall booties. I think these add style to the entire look- and I love the way they match the skirt!

I sort of think this looks a little like a J Crew outfit… although none of the pieces are from J Crew! LOL! At the risk of aging myself (again), does this sweater remind anyone of Andie McDowell from St. Elmo’s fire? For some reason it does to me!

I seem to be drawn to cardigans that tie in front- great for hiding my belly! I love the cable knit detail on this sweater.

Skirt: Anthropologie, Blouse: Target, Sweater: Banana Republic, Shoes: Marshalls, Tights: DSW, Necklace: Kohl’s

10 thoughts on “Oct. 17th, Transition into Fall

  1. That sweater would look great with some dark jeans too! I really appreciate that you show items from Target, very affordable and stylish.

    • You’re right! It does look great with dark jeans- I just never knew what to wear under the sweater. I always played it safe with either a black or white t shirt. Boring!
      Thanks for your comments! I really appreciate it!

  2. I love the classic button-down to balance the fab booties. A turtle neck and scarf would work too, right? I totally get the whole Andi McDowell thing! I still love her look.

Leave a Reply

