Dec 2nd, 30 for 30- Day 2

I’m off to a running start- although not sure how well yesterday went! I shouldn’t have worn jeans. We had an office open house, and I was too casual. Don’t you hate it when that happens? I swear, I feel like I always miss the mark.

Oh well, I’m trying!

Today I am wearing my black skinny pants and this incredibly soft grey sweater. I love the hemline- how it covers my bum, and has some movement to it.

To add some interest to the look I threw on this scarf. One thing about scarves- go for the largest, thickest material you can find. A skinny, anemic scarf looks awful. Wrap it around your neck a couple of times, then tie it in front. Volume is key!

Speaking of missing the mark, I’m showing a picture of some boots below- I bought these many years ago and wore them recently. I felt so dorky- the square toe seems dated. I usually wear flat boots, but I probably ought to invest in some with heels as well. They will last me for years. Any recommendations? Comfort is essential!

Is this square toe still stylish? I think not, but need advice!

Outdoors you can really see the gorgeous color of this sweater!

I should take all my pictures outside, the lighting is just so much better- sadly it is so dark here so early (and so cold) that sometimes I just have to make due with the indoor shot! Sorry!

Pants: Gap, Sweater: Louis Permilia, Scarf: Lucky, Boots: Frye

13 thoughts on “Dec 2nd, 30 for 30- Day 2

  1. Donated my square toed shoes to Salvation Army last month. I think that I kept them far too long because they were so comfortable.

    • I know, they are comfy aren’t they? Did you find a more modern pair to replace them? Please share if so!
      Thanks for your comment! I love hearing from you!

  2. LOVE the sweater and scarf with black skinnies!!! I’ve had REALLY good luck finding affordbale comfort line boots at Kohl’s. Today I’m wearing my NaturalSole by Naturalizer black boots a Christmas present from hubby last year (I may have pointed him in the right direction on that gift idea 😉

  3. Heeled boots, very tricky. According to Laura Perin, anything with a heel needs to be an investment piece. NOTHING worse than average, black, heeled boots. Ugh. So, save your money and go for it with the heeled boot. It’ll last you 10 years if you do it right. For example: http://www.gucci.com/us/styles/270204A88001000#
    How do you like that one? Affordable? Not at all….but one can dream. Hey, if you use my logic, its only $110 a year.

    Or, if you want to be more casual, try this: http://www.lacanadienneshoes.com/us/boots/heel/pauletta-black.html Way more affordable but kinda not that interesting. In my opinion, stick with the cool flat boot over this one.

    Or just buy a killer pair of black suede pumps: http://www.bluefly.com/Prada-black-and-ebony-suede-platform-pumps/SEARCH/317427901/detail.fly

    I love your blog…..thanks for keeping it up.

    Laura

    • Love those killer suede pumps- not practical in rainy Seattle though…
      Great finds- all a little too pricey for my budget, but you certainly have amazing taste!
      Thanks so much for commenting!

  4. i really love the sweater and scarf! adorable!! this whole outfit is great – love everything about it. and it looks so comfortable!

  5. Hi Megan!

    Since you asked for comments, I thought I would drop you a note. I think your boots are ADORABLE!!! I think this outfit today sizzles with style! I just can’t imagine that you “missed the mark” yesterday. I follow your fashion guidelines and use your advice to direct my buying decisions. I appreciate your blog so much.

    Susan M.

  6. Your blog is my new favorite! You have great style and it is REAL! It gets frustrating seeing all these girls wearing six inch heels but you give great advice for the everyday mom (great blog name!). Please keep posting–I need the help!

  7. I am totally addicted to your blog! I’m on the east coast so your “today” outfit helps me “tomorrow”.

    I have a question about boots. I’m finally prepared to buy a pair…what color do you suggest!?!? I see you wear black boots a lot, the Frye ones. Which model are they? What do you think about the Paige Tall Riding boots….? I’m wondering if I’d get more use out of the gray version instead of a black or brown….??

    • Thanks so much for your comment! I get so excited when I hear from someone who likes my blog! I truly love doing this- and am learning so much as I go!
      As for your boots question, it really depends on what color you tend to wear the most of. I (obviously) wear a ton of black- so that was the best color for me. Last year I bought 2 pairs of the exact same boot- one in brown and one in black. I very rarely wore the brown ones!

      I can’t imagine wearing grey- but I’m starting to see them on lots of gals. That being said, grey might be a bit trendy. If you can find a cheap pair (around $100, go for it), but black boots will always be classic and in style- and worth spending a little bit more $$ on.

      My Fyre’s are from last year. They are called Melissa and they have stretchy material as well as leather (which is nice because it will fit over large calves).
      http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/frye-melissa-gore-zip-boot/3101828?origin=keywordsearch&resultback=5981

      As for the Paige Tall boots- do you have super long legs? If so, I’m sure they would look lovely on you. If your legs are on the shorter side, you might want to stick to boots that just reach below your knee. To be honest, I’m not familiar with that exact style, but I’ll look them up.
      Thanks and feel free to send a photo anytime! I’d love to include you in my ‘more everyday moms’!

Leave a Reply

