Dec 31st- 30 for 30 Summary

Wow! I actually did it!

To be honest, I’m a bit surprised! I am very good at starting things- but not so good at finishing them.

Here is a summary of what I wore for my 30 for 30 Challenge. To see the slideshow, click on any picture and it will take you to the larger images.

Here is what I learned:

Scarfs, jewelry, belts and jackets can really change an outfit (duh!)

I sure wear my skinny jeans a lot.

I am so surprised that I only wore my pencil skirt once! It’s appropriate for work, but seems a little dressy for ‘everyday’ moms.

I think a skirt with a brighter pattern, or a bright solid color (I’m thinking red)- would have been a bit more fun.

A pair of cropped cargos or khakis would have been a nice alternative to my jeans.

I’ve learned I actually like having my choices narrowed down- it made things so much easier getting dressed each morning!

On that same note- I’ve also learned that I don’t need so many items in my closet- most don’t get worn anyway.

I think the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that I’m going to stick to investing in quality, classic pieces- not buying so many cheaply made items from places like  Old Navy, Target, H&M and so forth… Those stores are fun for ‘fast fashion’ (as my friend Heidi told me), but I’ve learned my style is classic, not uber trendy, so I don’t need to be wasting money on those type of items (although every  now and then a fun trendy piece paired with something classic is great!).

I’m very glad I did this 30 for 30 Challenge, and will probably return to it again this summer (bet it’s a lot easier with summer clothes!).

OK! Enough preaching!!

All that being said, I’ve gone a whole month without buying myself a SINGLE item of clothing (gasp), so I’m off to Nordstroms. See you next year! 🙂

Have a safe and fun night!

11 thoughts on “Dec 31st- 30 for 30 Summary

  1. Classic pieces with trendy accessories — love that! It’s also how I decorate my home! In fact, I kinda dress myself the same way I decorate my house!

  2. Thank you Megan for all your photos and notes this past year! I have learned SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much from you and emulate your style.
    I look forward to seeing what you are wearing everyday.

    Susan McMullan

    • Thank you so much Susan! I am so glad you have enjoyed this experiment with finding style! I always love hearing from you- thanks for all your comments!
      Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Years!
      🙂 Megan

  3. great job Megan! I agree, I can’t tell that you only had 30 peices either. It seemed like so much more.

    +1 on investing….Having quality peices that you want to wear over & over are key. I started following this a few years back when I realized I had too many things I didn’t like or that look exactly the same.

    The other rule I’ve been following is that if you don’t LOVE it when you are at the store (trying it on) then don’t get it. If there’s a small part that is telling you no, listen because as my friend Nicole says “if you don’t love it now, you’ll really hate it later.” I play that everytime in my head when I am trying to decide what to get/not get.

    • Great advice Laurel- you are absolutely right! I’d also add that if something doesn’t fit perfect- don’t buy it (unless you are planning on altering it), but buying something thinking ‘when I lose 5 pounds this will be perfect’ is a BIG mistake!

      Thanks for all your insightful comments- you always have something helpful to share, and I love hearing from you!

  4. I love your style! We are very similar. I love a scarf, skinny jeans and flat boots! I need to learn how to tie my scarves like you do. Very chic, yet effortless look. I Like!!

Leave a Reply

