Jan 11th, Work it Wednesday

It’s another edition of Work it Wednesday– where I link up with Jill’s Good Life- and show 1 item worn 3 ways. I’ve also linked with What I Wore Wednesday– so you can get lots of great ideas!

I really love this challenge because I love seeing how versatile a piece can be.

I read in Jessica Quirk’s book “What I Wore‘ that when shopping, she always makes sure that she can wear an item several ways before buying it.

I’ve also heard from readers who say when they shop they buy an entire outfit- but then later- they don’t know how to use the separate pieces from the ‘ready made’ outfit with other items in their closet.

One thing I learned (and shared) from my 30 for 30- was that you really don’t need a ton of clothes- you just need some great versatile pieces that can be worn several ways.

So, on that note- today’s staple piece is my light blue denim shirt. I’m showing it plain (and tucked in ) on the right- just paired with darker denim jeans and leopard flats. This is a look I would have NEVER tried a few months ago, but it actually quite stylish (or so I’m told!)

But, you know me- I like to layer. I like to be warm, I like the rule of 3… so here goes:

My first version is untucking the shirt and adding my faux fur vest, the one I call ‘the dog’. Notice my dog checking out my other dog! I think she’s jealous!

Love this vest! It adds a rugged, yet glamorous spin to the look.

My next look is my vintage sweater, this is a great cozy, weekend look!

This sweater is 50 years old!

My last look is with a scarf and boots.

Love the way an infinity scarf is easy to wear!

2 thoughts on “Jan 11th, Work it Wednesday

  1. I never know when to tuck a shirt in and when to leave it out… In the top photos you did one of each. What’s your thinking? I think the “grandpa” sweater might look better if the shirt was tucked in but I like the out look with the vest…

    • I never know either! I do think it is cute both ways, but more and more it seems like people like the untucked look. I think it’s more comfy untucked, but then again, I like the polished look of tucked. It’s a toss up! Maybe I’ll put that question out to my readers and see what they think!
      Thanks so much for your comment. I appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

