Jan 13th, Change is Good

 For years this outfit on the right is what I wore everyday- jeans and a solid plain t shirt.  To be honest, I dreaded getting dressed each day.

Besides the fact that this outfit is so boring and shows nothing of my personality, I hated the way my body looked in the not so flattering- plain- t shirt. I always feared a stranger would ask me when my baby was due- even though I wasn’t pregnant.

After years of dressing this way, I finally decided I’d had enough! I needed to find some style.

I started to go through magazines and tear out pictures of outfits I liked. I’d go to the mall, read magazines, or watch TV (Desperate Housewives) to find inspiration (this was all before I discovered the wonderful world of style blogs!).

Then slowly I started to build my wardrobe. I took careful stock of what I owned and what I needed and gradually added items.

This outfit today is a good example of how I’ve changed.  I’ve got on my  black skinny jeans and I’ve paired them with this cute ruffle shirt and then added a long cardigan over. I remember buying this cardigan (Anthropologie in Los Altos) and it seemed expensive at the time. Yet, when I wear it I feel great.

I love the ruffles on both the sweater and the top underneath (I never would have done that before!) and think this is a lot more interesting than a boring old solid t shirt.

Jeans: Gap, Sweater: Anthropologie, Shirt: Ann Taylor Loft, Boots: Target

5 thoughts on “Jan 13th, Change is Good

  1. This is so me… only my “uniform” had a t-shirt over the top (to dress it up a bit – haha) and either uggs leather boots or flip flops! 🙂 I think it might be fun if you do a link up party for mom’s showing their before “uniform” picture and their after picture… just a thought. That having been said, I still need to figure out how to do a link up party correctly!

Leave a Reply

