Jan 17th, Snow Day

Another cold and snowy day in the Pacific Northwest. I’m hoping  that I won’t have to leave my house- so it’s tempting to wear sweat pants and slop around all day.

The problem is that when I dress like that- I feel like that. I lay around feeling lazy all day.

When I force myself to shower, get dressed, even put a little makeup on- it makes me feel like I need to accomplish something.

To be cozy and warm, I’ve opted for black pants, a black shirt and a gray cardigan- but as the picture on the right shows- it actually matters WHAT black pants, shirt and cardigan I chose.

For example, in the photo on the right, these black cargo pants aren’t very flattering. The straight cut of the pants makes my legs look wide – especially contrasted to the picture on the left, where the pant leg is much more fitted and slimming.

The limp gray cardigan on the right doesn’t add anything to this outfit- it just looks plain and old fashioned.

Compare that to the cardigan on the left. This cardigan has a fun boxy shape to it which works well because it is balanced with the skinny pants on bottom. It also has this neat cable pattern- which gives the outfit texture and interest.

Lastly, I’ve replaced the black shoes on the right with the more stylish black wedge booties.

I knew these booties would become my 'go to' shoe. They area great alternative to my Frye boots.

Pants: Marshalls, Sweater: Target, Scarf: Target, Boots: DSW

Leave a Reply

