Jan 25th, A Different Kind of Working Girl

I know, two references to Working Girls in one week, what’s up with that?

Last Sunday I talked about hooker fashion (which I am not a fan of), today I’m actually talking about what to wear to the office.

The photo on the right (credit: xfinity.comcast.net) is a great example of what not to wear. Here is someone who is still dressing like she is in the 80’s.  The matchy matchy suit is very outdated- the cut of the jacket is too boxy and in my opinion, not stylish.

On the left is my more modern version. I’m still wearing a pencil skirt- but instead of pairing it with a boxy matching jacket- I’ve opted for a checked button down top layered over a white tank and then added a denim jacket.

I’ve added a ribbon belt to define my waist, and black tights and boots (I actually think gray tights might have been cuter- next time). For my accessories, I kept it very simple and only added my pearl necklace and J Crew bracelet. On reflection, my pearl necklace looks a bit lame… I might take that off!

By the way, I’m linking up with The Pleated Poppy again this week. Be sure to check out all the other fabulous sites that have also linked up. What a fun way to get real inspiration!

Even without the jacket, this still looks polished and stylish.

Depending on your office culture, a denim jacket can be a great alternative to a suit jacket.

One thought on “Jan 25th, A Different Kind of Working Girl

Leave a Reply

