Jan 31st, Chic Blog of the Week, Who Me?!

 Oh my gosh, this is so exciting. Sweet Melissa (I love that song by the way) of All Things Chic, has selected Everyday Mom Style to be the Chic Blog of the Week!

I am so flattered! Thank you Melissa for highlighting my little project! It means the world to me- not only because I am a huge fan of your blog but also because I love getting style tips and ideas from you!

If you want to check out her post, and if you were ever curious what my face looks like click here (I swear this is not a mug shot- although I don’t blame you for wondering. Now you know why I chop my head off in all my pics!).

And thanks for all those votes for Top Mommy Blogs- you all are amazing! If you want to vote for me, it is so simple, just one click on the ‘vote for me’ button on the right. That’s it! Thanks! You can do it every day if you want- it will keep me in the running! (I’m getting greedy, sorry! :))

In celebration of today I have decided to dress in my alter ego- rocker chic! I bought this tweedy, Chanel inspired jacket thinking it was a very serious jacket and would be perfect for work. In the picture on the right you can see how I had it zipped up and paired with baggy black trousers. I didn’t look like a serious employee- I looked old fashioned!

On the left I have updated my look. By unzipping the jacket and pairing it with these sexy skinny pants and boots- then adding a oversize, flowy tank layered with lots of silver chains- I have made my outfit more current and stylish. Rock on!

From dowdy gal to rocker mom!

Pants: Gap, Tank: H&M, Jacket: Nordstrom, Boots: Nordstrom, Necklace: Kohl’s

13 thoughts on “Jan 31st, Chic Blog of the Week, Who Me?!

  1. Congratulations, Megan! That is terrific news. I have a quick question for you. I love your style and how you show before and after pictures. I noticed that you tend to favor the “skinny jeans/pants” look (which is very flattering on you). What do you suggest for the Mom who doesn’t have the “legs” for skinny jeans? Would you suggest a classic bootcut style jean?

    • Thanks Sue!
      As for your question, to me it’s all about balance. Even if you think you don’t have the legs for skinny jeans- you could still try a slim pair of pants paired with a larger top or a long jacket (one that covers your butt). The goal is for either the top to be small and the bottom big, or vice versa. No matter what size you are- as long as you consider balance, it will look fabulous.

      I’ve never seen these pants in person, but they might be a good alternative to the skinny pant. http://bit.ly/w31zd5
      Chicos makes clothes cut for ‘real women’, not 25 year old ultra skinny models. These pants claim to be slimming- but not skin tight. Anything that is cut straight, but not in clingy fabric would work.

      Personally, I don’t love the boot cut on bigger women- unless it is paired with a really fitted top/ jacket. The problem is that a boot cut can make your leg look wider. If you have really long legs- a boot cut might work- but on a petit woman with stocky legs- this is not a good look.
      Thanks again for your comment and question, and I hope this helps a bit.

  2. Nice update to the corporate jacket! And congrats on the Chic Mom of the Week award!

    I have to tell you, you should definitely include your face in your posts. I’ve started following this blog recently, and while I love what you’re doing with your clothes, the chopped off head freaks me out slightly! Plus, you don’t give yourself enough credit regarding how photogenic you are!

    • Thanks for your comment! You’re sweet to suggest including my face- and I totally agree with you that the headless housewife is a bit startling and creepy! My issue is that often I’ll take my photo very early in the morning- before I’ve even showered. It’s the only time I have to edit and write my entry (before the kids get up). I am VERY scary looking in the morning- and can’t imagine having to get up even earlier to do hair and makeup. Plus, without including my face I feel a little anonymous. I may consider the occasional photo with my face- if I’m having a good hair day. But, it’s unlikely. Sorry!

  3. Congrats Megan!

    I went bargain shopping yesterday with a friend. I returned home with items that I learned about through your blog! I now am very focused when I shop. I know what I like (which is basically what YOU like–you shaped my style choices).

    My friend asked me what I thought about a belt she tried on. It was so funny because it was not a style that you wear, so I could not come up with an opinion about it!

    For the first time since my mid 20’s, I have a fashion style and actually care about how I dress! I love it. My husband and sister say I’m “obsessed” with Megan’s blog. I think they are right.

    • Oh you are too sweet! I’m so glad you enjoy my blog- and that it has helped you with your style choices, especially when shopping. It is so easy to get overwhelmed in a store and make bad decisions- glad I could help give you some ideas and tips.

  4. Okay, so now we know you have a gorgeous face to match the great figure! Love the blog so much–I can’t tell you how the before and after shots help me make better decisions! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

