March 4, All About the Footwear

 One of the most common questions I get from readers is ‘don’t your feet get cold in ballet flats?’.

The simple answer is ‘it depends’.

As long as I am going to be indoors most of the day, then my feet are fine in flats. If I’m going to be in and out a lot, then my feet definitely get cold, and I am much happier in my boots.

So, that being said- this outfit was designed around my shoes.

To be honest, most mornings that is how I plan my outfit. I think to myself; ‘What is my plan for today? Where will I be? What am I doing?” and then I go from there.

If I’m going to be on my feet all day- definitely flats, if I’m just going to work and will be sitting at my desk- I’ll wear heels, if it’s cold- boots with socks.

Last winter I wore my black boots almost everyday. This year I’ve been trying to change things up.

The one shoe I am trying to avoid are my ugly Uggs. Yes, they are warm and comfy- and if you ask the moms at the school bus stop- they will tell you that occasionally I will have them on- gasp! It’s early and they are easy to slip on, but as soon as I get home, shower and get dressed I chose a cuter shoe.

Now for my outfit today- on the right I am wearing head to toe blue- which I just said on Friday is a great way for petite gals to look taller- but in this case, it’s too boring and isn’t very flattering.

On the left I’ve switched out the Uggs for my brown boots and traded my blue button down for this cute grey and blue striped turtleneck. To add some style and warmth I’ve thrown on my brown leather jacket. It’s an easy and stylish way to keep warm while running errands.

I know, you don't even have to say it- these jeans are to baggy around the knee.

Shirt: J Crew, Jeans: Nordstrom, Jacket: Marshalls, Boots: DSW

5 thoughts on “March 4, All About the Footwear

  1. Great outfit, I’d love it more if the Jacket was a size smaller and more fitted on you. The sleeve looks to long and it is not giving you a waist. Perhaps a cropped biker jacket would make this look sing?

    • You nailed it! This is a good lesson for me to remember: buy the size that fits! I was so desperate for a brown leather jacket that when I saw this at Marshalls at a good price, I snatched it up- even though the fit wasn’t great.
      Lesson learned- thanks for your comment!

  2. Thank goodness! I’m not the only one who never cared for the UGG boots trend. I can’t believe the staying power of these boots. Unreal. To me, they are the Crocs of boots. And yes, I do own a pair of Crocs which I have actually been seen wearing outside of the garden, when I’m rushing the kids to school and have to slip into something easy! I just couldn’t bring myself to own both Crocs AND Uggs.

    Anyway, I love your blog! It inspires me to pair my existing clothes in different ways. Keep it up!

    • Thanks so much for writing!

      I agree, Crocs are seriously the WORST shoe out there. One of my neighbors wanted to buy a pair and I had to stop her. I felt kind of bad being so bossy- but adults should not wear rubber shoes (unless they are rain boots). They are great for gardening though…

  3. Could you give us some tips on how to pair Uggs. I love mine but I feel like they are so ugly I can’t match them with anything without looking like I’m headed for a blizzard! Lol.

Leave a Reply

