March 5th, Dressed for Success

It’s Monday, which means I’m heading into the office today, which means I need to dress somewhat nice!

I’ve chosen this cotton red Michael Stars dress. It’s super comfy, I like the bright red color, the bell sleeves and faux wrap style.

My only issue is the length. I’m a little worried that it’s too long (since it hits me below the knee) but paired with my black boots I think it works. What do you think?

I do know that at least it’s better than the dress on the right.

I call this my ‘nun outfit’. The length is awful- hitting me right above the ankle. This is not flattering at all. It’s very matronly and old fashioned looking. I bought this over 12 years ago and it’s been sitting in my closet ever since. Now I know why!

I’m hooking up with Monday Mingle today. Be sure to check it out for other great ideas.

For you petite gals who want to look taller, here is another great example of how to dress in all one color.

Dress: Nordstrom Rack, Boots: Nordstrom, Tank: Gap, Necklace: Plateau Jewels

13 thoughts on “March 5th, Dressed for Success

  1. I actually think the longer length works with the boots! Not matronly at all. The nun dress however…… yeah, I think we all have one of those stuffed in the back of our closet!

    Get thee to a nunnery!

  2. I really like the red dress, though it might work to take it to a tailor and have it shortened. What you have nice legs, may as well show them! Sometimes my tailor does miracles and sometimes she tells me that I’d just ruin the dress/pants/top if I tried to change it that much. Like it with the black and I thought it might also look good with brown (and a neutral under layer) to create two looks. I love the shoulders, sleeves, the tie waist and the great color of the dress!

  3. I like the boots with the dress but I think you need some knee showing. Because of the wide waistband and dolman sleeves, I think the length makes you look wider than you actually are. I relate this to wearing a baggy/flowy top with wideleg pants. I think too many loose pieces/sections makes a person look big all over. The dress is a great color but I think I don’t think the length is doing you any favors… You’re so trim, show it off!!! šŸ™‚

  4. You could shorten both of these yourself! You are such a great sewer. I think they’d both look better. I agre anything below the knee is so dangerous.

  5. I agree with Kathleen and Laurel – shorten that dress!! It’ll be cuter and I bet you’ll wear it a lot more. Either that, or try pairing it with heels. It just cuts the boots at the wrong place at that length, I think.

  6. Hi, I”m a new follower and love checking your site each day. Yah for NW gals and not 20 somethings mamas.
    I’d say shorten the dress. The length seems to cut the boots at the wrong place. I think shortening it would be more flattering to your figure and allow you to get more wear out of it. It looks like a great dress for the transition of seasons as you move to Spring. With a shorter length, and the type of skirt it is, I think it would give you more shoe options for the spring. The dress is a great color of red. With that color you can mix it up with several different looks.
    Keep up the great posts!

    • Actually the dress on the right (the nun habit) is 12 years old. The Michael Stars is only 5! I got it a Nordstrom Rack, so it could possibly be 12 years old, I’m not sure when this style came out. You never know at the Rack! šŸ™‚
      One thing I’ll say is that it is very comfy!
      Thanks for writing!

  7. I’m going to be the lone dissenter here I think. I don’t like it at all. It could be the length, but something about the drape and the sleeves reminds me of a bathrobe. Sorry. I normally like everything you put on.. I feel bad for not liking this.

    • Never feel bad for stating your opinion- I am grateful for it! This is a learning process for me too!
      This dress is definitely as comfy as a bathrobe, so you may be on to something! šŸ™‚
      Thank you so much for taking the time to write.

  8. I like the dress, but I think it would look nicer with heels or boots with heels. These boots are nice, but more casual. I am also a NW 40 seomthing mom, so I check your blog every day.

    • Thanks, heels are a great suggestion.
      I love hearing you are from the NW, isn’t this the best place to live (when the sun is out?!). Did you get snow today? We did, but it’s gone now…

Leave a Reply

