April 24th, Black Cropped Pants


I’m wearing… you guessed it, black cropped pants today! For some stupid reason I really struggle when wearing black on bottom.

I know, black is a neutral & EVERYTHING goes with it- and yet, it took me 20 minutes to put this outfit together.

What’s wrong with me?

On the right is a good example of what NOT to wear with them. This solid long sleeve t shirt is too blah.  I look boring!

On the left I have opted for a cute light pink top with a ruffle collar.  I’ve paired it with a black cardigan.

Now, to be totally honest, I originally thought I’d pair this top with this jacket (see below), but then I looked at the pictures and I think it is too boxy paired with this loose top- and the whole thing makes me look large in the middle.

A boxy jacket needs to be paired with slim pants- or skinny jeans.

The black cardigan was my before picture- until I actually saw the picture, and then I thought, ‘wait, that actually works…’ I like the fact the outfit is only 2 colors- tying the top and bottom together.

Even though I’m wearing black on top and bottom, I still look ‘springy’ because of the shoes, cropped pants and light colored shell.

This is a very simple outfit, yet perfect for work.

Pants: Nordstrom, Shell: J Crew, Cardigan: Nordstrom, Shoes: DSW

2 thoughts on “April 24th, Black Cropped Pants

Leave a Reply

