May 2nd, Plaid Gone Bad

 Today’s look is a simple look- that shows how just a plaid shirt and jeans can be a cute outfit… or not.

I’ve used the picture on the right once before, but wanted to show it again because it’s a good example of how even a simple outfit like this can go wrong.

First off, look at the cut of the shirt on the right. It’s boxy and not fitted at all. This is not flattering.

Paired with the white t shirt underneath, faded mom jeans and tennis shoes- this look does nothing but scream ‘dated’. And yes, I know I’ve said to dress in all one color to look slimmer- but this is too dull.

On the left is my revamped look.  This plaid shirt is more fitted (it has darts under the bustline and in the back to make it more feminine and fitted) and the 3/4 sleeves are a nice touch. As for the shirt underneath, instead of the high neckline of the white t shirt, a white tank (with a lower neckline) looks fresher. It’s a small detail, but having that extra skin showing around the neckline does make a difference.

My dark skinny jeans and cute (and comfy) ballet flats finish the look. To add a little something extra, I’ve got on a few silver bracelets and a very dainty and simple necklace.

It’s Wednesday- so linking up to Pleated Poppy and her fun link up party. Hundreds of cute ideas await…

This very simple and understated necklace is the perfect touch.

Jeans: Anthropologie (James Jeans), Shirt: Land’s End Canvas, Shoes: Nordstrom (Frye)

2 thoughts on “May 2nd, Plaid Gone Bad

  1. What a difference a few changes can make! Thanks for adding the brand name of jeans and shoes. That helps when I go shopping for the same look. 🙂 I love the consignment long light grey vest with pockets you featured a while back. Could you share the brand name of that too? Thanks!

    • Thanks for your comment Janice!
      Sylvie Mado is the brand for the grey vest. I have no idea where it came from, so good luck- and let me know if you find it.
      As for the shoes- I hesitated buying these because they were expensive (to me), but since they are a great neutral color- they will go with anything and will last me for years. They are also so much more comfy than the flats I have from Target (not that I don’t love my Target shoes), but for days when I’m going to be on my feet all day- it’s worth it to splurge on a shoe that is actually more supportive and comfortable.

      Good luck and thanks again for taking the time to write!

Leave a Reply

