May 11th, Casual in Khakis

For those of you who are following my foot pain saga, I think I may have some good news!

Taking readers advice, I decided to do a little shopping and check out Danskos. Originally, I thought there was no way that I would find any that I liked. In my mind, Dansko is a big, black, clunky, masculine shoe!

Much to my surprise, I found these – dare I say it- cute sandals! They definitely aren’t something that I would ordinarily be drawn to- but once I put them on I was hooked!

They are so sublimely comfortable- and my feet are so happy! However, before I decide to keep them for sure, I need to know your thoughts.

Are they keepers?*

As for my outfit. I decided to play it safe and wear my new shoes with khaki cargos and a striped shirt- but these stripes (on the right) are so close together they make me dizzy and the cut of this shirt is too short and very boxy and not flattering. It just looks weird!

To improve the look, I rolled the cuffs of the pants to make them a little more ‘on trend’, and then switched out the striped shirt to a cute blue and white one. Notice the cute details on the sleeves. The necklace is the final touch.

Don’t forget, it’s Fashion Friday, so be sure to click here to see some other very cute ideas!

Side view to show the shoe from another angle. The heels are a little clunky, but luckily that is ‘in’.

*I won’t wear the shoes out of the house today, (so I can return them if necessary) so please feel free to be very honest!

Shirt: Anthropologie, Pants: Anthropologie, Shoes: REI, Necklace: Plateau Jewelers

11 thoughts on “May 11th, Casual in Khakis

  1. I really like them! They are very cute and look like they would be versatile. You could wear them with a casual skirt, or capris or jeans as well. Having just spent 12 weeks recovering from a stress fracture in my foot, I understand! I had to wear a walking boot and toner tennis shoe on the other foot to make it the right height so I wouldn’t limp. After the boot, horror of horrors, a “very” sturdy white walking tennis shoe was the only thing I could wear for about a month. Suffice it to say, I am NOT a tennis shoe girl. But, it was the right thing to do and I am about 90% recovered now. And you will get better too! You always look great, and I love your posts everyday! Keep the shoes! 🙂

  2. I like them! The style is a little boho & not overly orthopedic, if you know what I mean. I have the sissy style Danskos & love them. Comfortable, versatile & not too clunky. I get tons of compliments–from other moms of small kids, granted : )–but, that’s what I am!
    Love your blog for being so real & relatable. Thanks!

  3. Keep them! They will look great with your boot-cut pants! I wear clunky black ones and I make sure the rest of my outfit is feminine so it’s balanced. They are better than running shoes, right?

    Welcome to the world of women with imperfect feet. I’ve been there all my life and literally have the scars to prove it! It’s not so bad to wear somewhat sensible shoes.

  4. I don’t want to be negative (and I always LOVE your shoes, even the Birks the other day weren’t bad!) but I really am not liking these. They are kind of old lady looking, and in the second, close-up pic they make your feet look really big (and I’m sure they are not!). I would return them. Have you looked at Naturalizer? They have some really cute styles and are supposed to be comfy…

    But I love your outfit – especially the necklace!

    • I agree they look a little old lady (I think it’s the buckles), but they’re some of the cuter danskos I’ve seen. I looked on the orthoheel website, and it’s hard to find cute shoes that help with foot pain! I’m going to KC to visit girlfriends and shop this weekend, and I’m going to drag them into a specialty store to see if I can find even one cute pair of orthodic shoes.

  5. Hi Megan,

    I hear your feet woes. I have bunions the size of France and I am an occupational therapist and have worked with (other people’s) feet. So I should know better, but I don’t always practice what I preach…. if I recall correctly though a little heel is good for plantar fasciitis??? (work in peds now and their fascia is all good) I like the Danskos and seeing your pictures makes me want to get some!! Another brand I like is NAOT – I believe you can take out the insole and put in your own custom orthotic for most styles… Good cost per wear potential and although there are some ugly styles, there are some cute styles in the NAOT spring collection! Wishing you good shoe shopping for mothers day!!

  6. I’m a huge fan of Danskos. They are just so sublimely comfy. These are cute, and if they are comfortable for you, keep them. You may not wear them much after your foot heals, though. If you’re unsure, it is usually a sign that you don’t really love them. (At least, this is what I’ve learned about myself, lol.) Love that striped top! The sleeves are adorable.

  7. I vote “keep.” We all need cute shoes, but we also all need 12 hour shoes. If you haven’t had foot pain, you just can’t understand it. I had PF for several years..Danskos and Orthoheels really helped. Also, the $27 heel inserts from Heelthatpain.com were WONDERFUL in my flatter shoes.
    There is a blog called Barking Dog Shoes that reviews “comfort” shoes for women..check it out..

  8. I went to The Walking Company yesterday and found abeo shoes. I bought a pair of flip flops with great not obvious looking arch support! They weren’t cheap but oh so comfy! A lot of the shoes there were grandma, but there were a few cuties.

  9. Danskos are a must have – they are like a comfort food, you just need them once in awhile ! They arent right for every outfit, but they do have their own look – different is good …..

Leave a Reply

