May 18th, I Hate This Dress

 Today’s post is a bit different, because truth be told- I hate this dress!

I bought it when shopping with my mom, and lesson learned! She’ll tell me I look cute in anything, when in reality this dress is so unflattering.

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating. When in doubt about something, take a picture of yourself wearing it. For some strange reason, the camera seems to be more honest than the mirror!

The major problem with this dress is the high waist and the diagonal stripes. Now you all know how much I love my stripes- but in this case- they are working against me. They make me look really large through the hip and tummy area. The denim jacket is emphasizing that- by drawing your eye right to my middle. ARGH! The flat ankle strap sandals are also shortening the length of my legs- not to mention very matronly!

To salvage this look (because I already cut the tags off the dress), I’m wearing it paired with a blue trench coat and heels. The trench coat helps break up the stripes, defines the waist and the light blue adds a nice soft contrasting color to the yellow.

It still isn’t my favorite look- but I decided to show it to you all so that you can see how something as simple as a diagonal stripe can be so unflattering.

It’s Fashion Friday, so be sure to click here for some cuter looks! Enjoy your weekend.

The high heel sandal makes my legs look a lot longer (although my feet will probably ache at the end of the day).

5 thoughts on “May 18th, I Hate This Dress

  1. I actually don’t think it’s so bad. Try adding a waist belt and something that doesn’t have straps around your ankles!

  2. I agree with Ashlee. Add a wide brown leather belt (about 3-4 inches thick) and it would work. I think diagonal stripes are not as bad as you think. It may not be a home run but I definitely think it’s salvagable if you also choose a fitted jacket.

Leave a Reply

