June 4th, Polka Dot Cardigan

  If you’ve been paying attention to fashion you’ll notice that polka dots are a huge trend right now.

For some reason I just can’t seem to join in on the craze. Part of it is that I haven’t found anything polka dot that really worked for me- and looked appropriate on a 41 year old.

Then I found this cute cardigan at Target. It’s a very subtle polka dot pattern. In fact, from the photos you can barely even see them.

Which in my mind is perfect. Sometimes, I’d rather be a bit subtle than scream ‘trendy’.

On the right I’ve paired this cardigan with my old faded jeans. It looks ok, but not very polished. My closed toe shoes are also a bit off- being that it’s summer!

On the left I now have on my dark blue bootleg jeans. These are almost like dress pants- they really don’t look like jeans. For my shoes, I’ve switched out the black pumps for snakeskin wedges. Finally, I added a cute necklace to follow my ‘rule of 3’.

Pretty simple and easy changes- but they make a big difference.

Happy Monday. Go check out my friends on Monday Mingle!

Jeans: Nordstrom, Tank: Loft, Cardigan: Target, Necklace: Target, Shoes: DSW

14 thoughts on “June 4th, Polka Dot Cardigan

  1. I love that cardigan! Did you purchase this recently from Target? I looked online but couldn’t seem to find it. It looks great with the dark jeans.

  2. I love the top half (cardigan, necklace, top) but not loving the bottom half. You have definitely rocked bootcut like nobody I know, but this pair seems off, kinda bunchy – maybe too long?

    • Thanks for your comment! This is a perfect example of how this blog is very ‘real’. I agree, the jeans are bunching up a bit at the bottom- I don’t think they are too long, I think they are hitting the top of my bulky shoes and gathering around the ankle. It looks a little weird, I agree. However, being a Monday- and being a mom trying to get 2 kids (one who woke up on the wrong side of the bed) up and out the door this morning meant I didn’t have time to alter my look- so what you see is what you get! Next time I’ll try different shoes!

      • Oh I totally understand! And don’t get me wrong, 99.9% of the time I LOVE what you have on 🙂 I found your blog recently while trying to get out of my 2 year “slump” of looking slovenly after having my last kiddo and I have been basing my “new” wardrobe on many of your looks and combos! I like that you are trendy, but not obnoxiously so, as I am NOT young enough to pull off some of these new extreme looks, nor in a fashion forward enough part of the country to get away with such extremes! So thank you for your guidance!

    • No, there isn’t a link, sorry! Basically it’s an idea I got from Jessica Quick of What I Wore (one of my favorite blogs). My rule is that I always try to have at least 3 items in my upper half of my outfit. I love to layer, so this is usually pretty easy to do- but it can also be achieved with jewelry, scarves, jackets… Anything to create interest. Basically, in design things grouped in 3’s is more appealing (at home I group things in 3’s for decorating as well).
      Thanks for commenting! Have a great day.

  3. This sweater is great Meagan! I have been on the hunt for a cute black/white polka dot (or any color that looks good) short sleeved blouse for a while and can’t wait to find one I like. The polka dots are really nice with dark colors.

Leave a Reply

