Oct 2nd, Polka Dot Top

I’ve already worn this polka dot top (from Target), but it is so cute, I had to bust it out again.

Plus, I thought it was the perfect backdrop for my new Stella and Dot statement necklace. I’m sure you’ve seen lots of this style necklace (J Crew started the fad), but I just got mine- and am so excited!

I actually wore this outfit to dinner at a friend’s house over the weekend. I like the casual, rolled boyfriend jean, the polka dot top and the casual cardigan. It’s so much better than a pair of mom jeans, a white t shirt and a matronly cardigan. Don’t you think?

It’s the small details that make this outfit look pulled together- the patent leather ballet flats, the skinny belt, the statement necklace…

And here’s a secret. These are actually not boyfriend jeans- they are just a pair of straight leg jeans that I rolled at the cuff a few times- and now I love the way they look (before they were too long, unless I wore heels). I know that sounds so obvious- but I honestly didn’t figure this out until recently- so had to share! Just because the jeans are not rolled when you buy them doesn’t mean you can’t roll them! Aha!

Jeans: Nordstrom Rack, Cardigan: Standard Boutique (Kansas City), Polka Dot Top: Nordstrom, Shoes: Nordstrom, Belt: Ann Taylor, Necklace: Stella and Dot

6 thoughts on “Oct 2nd, Polka Dot Top

  1. Thanks again for a great post! Love the outfit! Curious on your tips for staying fit. You look great and I’ve been struggling keeping the pounds off as I get more into my 40’s. Thanks!!

    • You’re sweet! My tip for staying fit is to do something each day- I walk my dog about twice a day( 15 minutes each time), play tennis 4 days a week and go for runs on the weekend. I also love to bike ride, hike and practice yoga. When I first had my kids- and getting outside to exercise wasn’t an option, I bought a treadmill- put a gate around it (so the toddlers couldn’t get close) and then popped in a dvd and walked on an incline for 30 minutes. Basically, anything you can do to move will be good for your body.
      I also never eat fast food- I cook instead -and am careful with my portions. My mom and sister do Weight Watchers, so I have learned from watching them how important moderation is.
      Again, thanks for your question!

Leave a Reply

