Nov 7th, Feeling Patriotic

 I probably should have worn this outfit yesterday- but I didn’t- so here I am feeling very patriotic today.

The thing is though, wearing red jeans can be tricky. They are so attention seeking, it’s important that the top doesn’t compete too much with the bottom. On the other hand you don’t want to be too boring!

As you can see on the right- the white t shirt and the jean jacket are a little too plain. Plus, the jean jacket sleeves are too long and the fit is too boxy. Finally, my red shoes are a little to ‘matchy, matchy’!

On the left is my reworked outfit. Here I’ve selected a blue and white silk tank with an interesting print. I layered it under a more fitted jacket and rolled the sleeves up.

I love the loose, flowy style of this tank because it allows my tummy plenty of room to breathe- and the jacket ads a layer of warmth and texture. To complete the look I chose my Stella and Dot statement necklace. As for my shoes, instead of the matching red shoes I chose my wedge loafers. Now I can wear socks and my feet are toasty warm.

Jeans: Marshalls, Tank: Banana Republic, Jacket: Gap, Shoes: J Crew, Necklace: Stella and Dot

2 thoughts on “Nov 7th, Feeling Patriotic

Leave a Reply

