Nov 14th, Brown and Blue Together?

A year ago I would have never combined brown and blue together.

When wearing brown (or gray) pants or skirt I always took the safe route and opted for a white or an off white shirt on top. But how boring is that?!

On the left I have replaced the white shirt with this bright blue silk top.

I love this silk shirt- it can be worn un-tucked over skinny pants as a tunic, or tucked into a skirt as shown here.

As for my shoes, instead of the matronly heels on the right, I decided to go for my brown boots. I also added a belt (following my rule of 3).

To finish it off, I added this cool beaded necklace to tie the blue and brown  together.

This statement necklace ties the skirt and blouse together.

Don’t be afraid to mix brown and blue (or brown and black as we saw the other day!)

Blouse: Nordstrom, Skirt: Nordstrom, Boots: DSW, Necklace: Forever 21

6 thoughts on “Nov 14th, Brown and Blue Together?

  1. I stumbled onto your blog a few weeks ago and wanted to say thanks. Your outfits have made me rethink my wardrobe and I have also started to use my accessories more. As a result I have had some positive comments from friends about some of the outfit I have cloned from you!!
    Thanks very much,
    UK follower!!

    • Thank you so much for the compliment! So glad you found me- and that you have learned some new tips to putting together great looks! How exciting that your friends are noticing!!

      PS- I used to live in the UK (Windsor). I loved it there- and miss it lots!

  2. Great combination! The statement necklace is the perfect accessory too. I really love your boots with the pencil skirt. I never thought to try that since I’m so short, but I think I will give it a go:) Thanks for the inspiration! xo

    • Of course, I simply like to have 3 pieces in the top half of my outfit. This means either layering, adding a scarf, a piece of jewelry, a vest, a belt… something that adds interest. I don’t always follow the rule- but for the most part try to use it. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

