Dec 13th, A Peek Inside my Closet

I’m skipping posting my outfit today- to give you a little peek inside my closet. I get lots of emails from readers asking how to organize your closet, so today I decided I’d show you what I do.

DSCN6256

I think the most important thing to keeping your closet organized is to make sure everything has a place. I’m talking jeans, sweaters, belts, purses, scarves, slips, bathing suits… everything!

By planning out where everything goes- it is so much easier to put laundry away and stay organized.

I also suggest that since most of us only wear about 25% of the items in our wardrobe, about every 3 months do a closet edit. Go in with an open mind and just start getting rid of things that you haven’t worn. Keep a laundry basket on the floor and fill it with items to donate to charity.

A great tip I read was to turn all your hangers one direction- and then after you wear something turn the hanger the other way. After a few months you will see what you are wearing or not wearing- which will help when it comes time to edit.

My organization is that I like to group like colors and like items together. I have all my dresses in one section, all my blazers in another, skirts are separated as well.

Here are all my blazers/ jackets.

Here are all my blazers, jackets and vests.

For my tops- I have them all hanging together and grouped by color. Looking at the picture- it's fun to see what color I tend to gravitate to- and what color I'm lacking (green?!)

For my tops- I have them all hanging together and grouped by color. Looking at the picture- it’s fun to see what color I tend to gravitate to- and what color I’m lacking (green?!)

I wish everything was on wooden hangers, but alas- I have a mix of everything.

I wish everything was on wooden hangers, but alas- I have a mix of everything.

My jeans are folded on the shelf for easy access.

My jeans are folded on the shelf for easy access.

My socks, underwear, bras, bathing suits and work out tops are grouped together in this plastic storage unit.

My socks, underwear, bras, slips, tights, bathing suits and work out tops are grouped together in this plastic storage unit.

To the right of these bins I have all my sweatshirts, hoodies, fleeces... casual stuff.

To the right of these bins I have all my work out jackets, hoodies, fleeces… casual stuff.

Scarves are tossed in these bins (not the most organized way- but I have so many that it's easiest for me to group them this way.)

Scarves are tossed in these bins (not the most organized way- but I have so many that it’s easiest for me to group them this way.)

Shoes sit on shelves for easy organization.

Shoes sit on shelves for easy access.

I hang my necklaces on a belt rack.

I hang my necklaces on a belt rack.

I keep style books on hand for instant ideas!

I keep style books and magazines on hand for instant ideas!

By keeping a clean and organized closet you will have a much smoother time getting ready every morning. When you can see what you have it's a lot easier!

By keeping a clean and organized closet you will have a much smoother time getting ready every morning. When you can see what you have it’s a lot easier!

7 thoughts on “Dec 13th, A Peek Inside my Closet

  1. Thanks for sharing! It’s nice to see a working “real” closet and not just the idealized dream closets you see in magazines or Pinterest. BTW, I’ve been following your blog for months now and really enjoy it. Not sure whether I’ve commented before tho.

Leave a Reply

