Nov 13th, Can’t Seem to Get Over You

I’m not sure what it is about this stupid flannel shirt, but I really want to make it work. I’ve tried and had failure several times- but I’m stubborn and I swear I will find a way to make this shirt work… maybe?

Part of why I won’t give up is that I see other people wearing flannel and it always looks great on them, plus- it is so warm and comfy, I just hate to think I can’t find a way to make this look good.

So, here’s what I tried today. I layered the shirt under a vest- so that you don’t see too much flannel. The black quilted vest breaks up the pattern a bit.

Here’s what I did wrong- on the right I am also wearing a scarf- which you know I’m a fan of scarves, but this paired with the chunky vest is just too much! Also, I’m wearing faded ‘mom jeans’ that look a bit dated. Paired with my round toe boots- this just doesn’t look fashionable.

On the left I’ve tried to improve it by switching to darker, skinny jeans, cute ballet flats and then I added a pearl necklace- just to give it a more feminine look.

I am torn about this look though. I seem to be off this week… maybe I’m in a slump?! Time to go shopping! 🙂

I tried tucking the shirt in to make it a bit more polished but I need a belt!

13 thoughts on “Nov 13th, Can’t Seem to Get Over You

    • Consider it ditched. Thanks so much for the comment, I can’t figure out why I liked that dumb shirt so much, you are totally right- it is UGLY!

  1. I think the vest/flannel shirt combo is a little too lumberjack and just not “you.” I feel cold just looking at your sweet little feet in those flats — I know it’s not warm enough up there for that! What about a cardigan or other sweater over the flannel? And you could pair that with your skinny jeans tucked into boots. Of course, shopping is always a great answer, too.

  2. I don’t think you need to ditch he shirt! The problem is that it isn’t fitted enough and looks “manly”. Have it taken it at the tailors and I bet you get a different feel for the shirt and how you rock it!!!

    • You might be on to something! This shirt is very boxy and unflattering… but rather than have it altered, I’m just going to donate it to Goodwill. Maybe there’s a small lumberjack out there in need of a good shirt! LOL!

  3. I have donated several pieces since following your blog — sometimes it’s just good to let it go! J Crew has a cute bright plaid shirt featured on their website.

  4. I’m thinking the problem is with the color of the flannel shirt. No matter what jeans you pair it with, it’s still going to be overly blue/navy. If you bought a flannel shirt in contrasting colors (think no blue!) you may like it better! I wouldn’t ditch the flannel shirt idea just yet 🙂

  5. I agree with everyone else. The only way I could see it working is if you were going on a trip to in the mountains and needed to layer it under a big creme sweater. I liked it better when you had the scarf with it vs the other choice but it’s not the best pattern for you.

Leave a Reply

