Sept 27th, I Spy With My Little Eye

This busy pattern works with a solid base.
Untucked seems messy to me.

Yesterday I talked about how Jessica Quirk, from What I Wore, said to always dress in 3’s, and then here I am today breaking the rule, or am I? Today I’m wearing a patterned blouse, black dress pants and pointy toed heels. But, if you look closely- I have still followed the rule of dressing in 3’s by adding 3 accessories.  I added a skinny belt, a black bracelet and a Van cleef Arpels knock off necklace that my mom picked up at the Palm Desert flea market- (thanks mom!).

In the photo on the right I show this blouse just worn plain- untucked. Nothing special…

On the left layered it over a black tank, tucked the blouse in, added accessories and now I’m ready for work. This blouse I bought at Marshalls for $15. I have mixed feelings about it. I think it’s fun because I rarely wear patterns, and I almost never wear green- but the pattern is a little wild. I think it works?! What do you think? Is this pattern ugly? Or is it ugly/ cute?

Sometimes even the smallest details make a difference.

Heels: Nordstrom, Pants: Nordstrom, Blouse: Marshalls, Bracelet: Kohls, Belt: Ann Taylor

8 thoughts on “Sept 27th, I Spy With My Little Eye”

  1. I’m obsessed with patterns so I love it. The rule of 3s applies to design in general and funny enough I never thought to apply it to my accessories but I will now!

Leave a comment