June 1st, Reader’s Request: What to Wear in Disneyworld

Welcome to a second week of Reader’s Request! This week’s question has come from more than one reader- and I’ll admit it’s a tough one. It almost stumped me!

The question is: what to wear in Disneyworld?

This is a great question because while you want to look cute, you must also keep in mind that you will be on your feet all day!

No matter how comfortable you want to be, please- whatever you do- don’t wear the outfit on the right!

This oversize t shirt is so unflattering, and the cropped yoga pants make my legs look really short! Don’t even get me started on the tennis shoes!

However, you do want to wear something that is very comfortable.

That being said- my suggestion is a short, loose, cotton dress. The fabric must be breathable (hence the cotton), and the length should be at the knee. I wouldn’t suggest a maxi dress because climbing in and out of rides could get tricky with a long dress. I like black because it won’t show dirt as easily- and the loose fit will allow me to eat all day long and not worry about a food baby!

Remove the scarf as soon as you warm up.

I love a dress because it can transition from day to night easily- (especially if you are going to Disneyland- it gets cold in CA at night!).  A dress is so easy to layer- throw a scarf, a cardigan and a pair of leggings in your backpack- and when the sun goes down you can easily add whatever you need.

By far, the most important part of your outfit is your shoes. You will be on your feet for probably 12 hours, so more than anything you need your feet to be extremely comfortable.

Let me just share with you my new FAVORITE shoe! It’s a Dansko sandal and I am seriously in LOVE with this shoe!

I wore it last week when I flew to California- I put them on at 4:30 am and wore them until 9:00 pm and my feet did not hurt at all. I swear!

This is coming from someone who usually has horrible lower back pain, serious fatigue and aching feet and I honestly felt amazing. I never knew a shoe could make such a difference.

Please take my advice and go buy yourself some. Wear them around the house a few days before you go- don’t ever wear brand new shoes to Disney (I’ve made this mistake and had to wear my clunky tennis shoes on the second day- and you know how I feel about that!).

There you have it- please feel free to comment and let us know what you would wear to Disney!

Use your scarf as a blanket when the sun goes down!

Throw on a cardigan if you get chilly.

It’s Fashion Friday– so be sure to click over to see more inspiration!

10 thoughts on “June 1st, Reader’s Request: What to Wear in Disneyworld

  1. I agree with all your advise, having spent April vacation in D-world even before it got super hot. I love the laryering ideas. I’d also suggest not wearing skirts that are too short or form-fitting because it takes some effort not to flash people as you get on and off of rides. That said, I didn’t even wear the pants and shorts I brought, just the dresses and a (too-short) skirt. Also, be sure to bring a cute, wide brimmed hat, preferably one you can cram into a bag or otherwise secure while you are on rides. Finally, a bag to carry water, hat, sunglasses, sunscreen and loot is crucial. Your purse can be tiny, but a small to medium tote ended up being crucial.

    • Great point about the skirt not being too short- and the reminder to bring a hat! How could I have forgotten that?! I would also suggest a cross body bag to keep essentials- phone, small camera, map… make your hubby care a backpack with the snacks, water bottles and sweaters! Thanks for commenting!

  2. What a great idea! I love the dress. Yes, it is possible to be fashionable at a theme park!

    I have a cross body bag that also doubles as a backpack if you adjust the straps. It’s off white leather, and a more stylish option to stash your scarf, water, etc. than a little daypack you’d wear hiking.

  3. I have those same Danskos! I bought them in March for a trip to Mexico and loved them. I wear Danskos for work (I’m a nurse) so I already knew that they would be great for all-day support. I like that they have a little bit of that platform/heel going on to help my legs look better.

  4. We were there in March and I’d reccomend a tank top dress too. If possible, I’d stay away from cotton though and go with a light weight technical fabric. It’s 80+ every day and humid so the cotton just soaks up the sweat. Athleta has some really great ones that are poly/spandex mixes and they are great for travelling because you don’t need to iron them. I have the pack anywhere dress in black and it’s great.

    If you want a full back here’s a great one too: http://athleta.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=46838&vid=1&pid=906152# or this one. http://athleta.gap.com/browse/product.do?pid=906195 You have lots of choices!

    Wear comfy shoes though, we walked 5+ miles at the park each day we were there.

  5. I have laughed 1000 times about the “what not to wear” look on the right. Megan, that is so funny, but so common! Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

