Sept 19th, LBD (Sort Of)

Every gal needs a LBD in her closet (in case you’re wondering- Little Black Dress) but for everyday use, I also think everyone needs a LBD- Little Blue Dress… or some alternative to the standard LBD. (I swear this dress is blue- the color looks a lot darker in the photo, to see the real color, click here).

I know I’ve said this before, but if you are comfortable wearing dresses- than do it!

Don’t be afraid of being over dressed- don’t worry if all you’re doing is running to the grocery store- wearing a dress is so comfy and so easy- you really can’t screw it up- because the outfit is done for you!

Just be careful with how you style it. For running errands, grocery shopping or volunteering in the classroom- keep it casual- wear flats instead of heels, and add something unexpected- like the cargo jacket seen here (scroll to the bottom of the page, and forgive me for the blurry pic!).

I love wearing a dress because I don’t have to worry about matching tops and bottoms- the whole outfit is 1 piece,

All I have to do is add accessories!

Today I have added a leopard belt and a Tiger Eye necklace. Nothing to exciting- but it adds a little something to an otherwise pretty plain outfit.

I love finding dresses at Marshalls, TJ Maxx and Nordstrom Rack. Go with an idea in mind of what you’re looking for- and be picky. There are a lot of duds out there- take your time, try it on and try to visualize at least 3 occasions where you would wear it.

Necklace from Forever 21

Again, I apologize for the quality of the photo… my strength is definitely not in photography! Sorry!!

And yes- I know I said I was getting rid of all ankle strap shoes (they make my legs look short), BUT- these are my orthopedic Naot shoes- and in this case I will sacrifice style for comfort. These shoes ROCK!!!

I’ve linked up with The Pleated Poppy for What I Wore Wednesday!

5 thoughts on “Sept 19th, LBD (Sort Of)

  1. Great job styling this dress! I love dresses, but like you said, I often feel overdressed when wearing one for “everyday.” I just recently found your blog and I am enjoying all your great fashion advice.

Leave a Reply

